Bayhawk Chocolate Porter

Sorry Emily, but I did my first solo run tonight. For those of you who don’t know, I play softball on Tuesday nights, and we decided to hit The Lazy Dog Cafe after our game for some food and beer. Seeing this as an opportunity to do some Much A’brew work, I took some notes on my phone.

I decided it was time to branch out from my usual choices at Lazy Dog and try some of their house brews. Their house brews are done by one of two local microbrews. Their Blonde, Pale, and Amber brews are from Firestone Walker [San Luis Obispo, CA] and their Porter and Hefeweizen are from Bayhawk Brewery [Irvine, CA]. Having not tried their Porter before, I decided to give it a try.

I didn’t know much about it when it arrived at our table. Everything about the beer outside of what I could deduce with my senses had to be looked up; no menu info at the restaurant, no beer bottle. The Chocolate Porter weighs in at a comfortable 6.7% ABV and has a pleasant and mild nutty/hoppy aroma. It pours with a nice thin head [as pictured] which is prevalent through most of the duration of its consumption.

It is listed as a “chocolate porter” with tastes of coffee and chocolate. However, I didn’t really pick up on the coffee taste, but the chocolate was there, but only mildly. There was certainly no “drinking a Hershey bar” feelings here. It was definitely a fuller-bodied beer as compared to some of the others we have written about so far. It was full-bodied, but very smooth, as noted by several of us who tried it. It has a mild hoppy kick then goes down smoothly. I only had one at dinner, but I could comfortably enjoy more than one since it seemed very easy to drink.

I’m not great a food pairings, but what I can tell you is that it went very well with my double grilled cheese sandwich and fries.

Overall score: 7.5

See you later this week. Cheers!

Max

2 responses

  1. Emily

    I can’t believe you went to lazy Dog without me AND reviewed my favorite type of beer without me AND didn’t bring me a grilled cheese sandwich. Meanwhile, this looks solid, except that beer from Irvine must suck by definition.

    January 26, 2011 at 8:26 am

    • Max

      I didn’t know it was Irvine beer until I looked it up when I got home, but I’d assume it would suck, too. I was pleasantly surprised.

      January 26, 2011 at 9:20 am

Leave a Reply

